I have a dream…

Today, I received in my inbox a challenge from Joshua Becker on Becoming Minimalist to share my story. Any of you who are reading this blog have been following my minimalist journey for the past 4 years, so I’m not going to repeat myself. But as my journey shows; it’s no small thing to empower ordinary people to dream decent and good dreams. If we all made these small changes to our lifestyles, then our world starts to look very different. Minimalism is counter-cultural and far from being restrictive it is actually liberating. I am sure that this stems from the fact that setting good boundaries is a healthy and useful life skill.

You may not think that these small changes can really have a great impact. But let’s just look at some examples here:

Minimalism leads to less spending, which in turn leads to greater financial security, which in turns leads to greater peace of mind. That could directly lead to better mental health which means less reliance on the over-burdened NHS. Improved finances could mean families no longer relying on benefits. Imagine having spare money left over, that could be donated to help those less fortunate – every single month. Imagine how good that would make you feel and the positive impact that could have on your mental health. So, you can see that a small changes leads to several different cycles of change and a ripple effect – outwards.

Minimalism leads to less buying, which means that more of the earth’s resources are left intact for future generations to enjoy. Less buying means that less workers in poorer countries are being exploited to make stuff we don’t need. Less buying and manufacturing leads to less pollution which improves everyone’s health and slows down global warming. That in turn, means that more animals are around for us and future generations to enjoy. Less shopping means that we all start spending more time outdoors or with family, which improves all of our mental health and again, reduces the burden on the NHS. Less buying stuff on credit means that we are independent and have greater peace of mind. This relieves the pressure on debt counselling agencies, the benefits system and the NHS.

I could go on, but I think you get my point. What small change can you make today?

3 thoughts on “I have a dream…

  1. I totally agree. I think aligning our goals with intrinsic values instead of external ones will definitely help make us a “happier” or more content world. The mental health aspect is pretty profound. I had not thought it before. I’m happy I took the time to read this post!

    • Thanks for stopping by! There has been a lot in the news in the UK about the links between our wellbeing and mental health. I’d also recommend reading Oliver James’s book Affluenza. He has another great book too – The Selfish Capitalist. They can be bit heavy going- but the general theme is that our constant keeping up with the Jones’s and comparison with others is actively causing depression and anxiety.

Leave a Reply

