Making a Vintage 1970s Maxi Skirt From An Original Pattern

I mentioned yesterday that I’m learning to sew- here is my finished Vintage 1970s Maxi Skirt and I absolutely love it! I found this floral print corduroy after much searching in local fabric shops (apparently printed corduroy isn’t in fashion, but I will always love it). I pickup up with pattern in a charity shop somewhere for 99p and it was un-used.

It was a Very Easy Vogue pattern- the skirt was cut in just 3 pieces- front panel, back panel and waistband. I had to add a couple of inches on to the pattern all over because a vintage 14 is a bit small on me. My sewing teacher helped me to do this and to hem it. As it’s a full circle skirt, the hem was a bit tricker than I imagined. I added some red bias trim to the pockets because I thought it would show them off a bit and voila! I will definitely be making this skirt again. I still have the blouse to try if I want to as well. I’m pairing it with a vintage pair of bright red court shoes that I found in a charity shop for 99p – I think they’re 80s, but they were brand new with tags and a perfect match! The jumper I’ve had for absolutely years (originally bought new), but it’s a good fit with lots of things. I also found an M&S cashmere, belted cardigan for £4 in a charity shop that I’m hoping will match this and a vintage Laura Ashley maroon velvet quilted jacket for £5.50. More photos to follow!

Leave a Reply

