Cashback Sites

Yesterday I wrote about how you can save money with shopping apps. Sometimes these are linked to cashback sites, so these seem to be the logical thing to talk about next.

A few years ago, I had never heard of cashback sites. I was hugely sceptical of them, having been brought up to believe that you don’t get anything for free in life. I checked around with some friends as to the legitimacy of them, before signing up. Moral of the story- I should have done it sooner! If you are going to buy something, then you should be checking every time whether you can get cashback, along with whether you can use a voucher code (more on that in my next post!)

These cashback sites will be relevant only to my UK readers, but you should check what is available in your own country. There are definitely cashback sites available in the USA for example. The first one I ever signed up to was Topcashback, it’s completely free to join (make sure you sign up for their ‘Classic’ account otherwise you’ll have to pay a small fee (I think it’s £5, but you might consider this worthwhile if you’re going to use it a lot as you’ll get preferential rates). Since I signed up, I’ve earnt over £369 in cashback. All you have to do is click through from their website, before completing your purchase. It’s not just clothes, cashback is available on almost anything these days. It’s well worth doing when you are due to renew any kind of insurance, or utilities provider. The only downside I have found with Topcashback is that transactions frequently get declined for no good reason and then, you don’t get your money. Another downside of all cashback sites is that there will be a delay in you getting your money, as they have to wait to get paid by the retailer. Some sites are better than others and I do find the Topcashback takes a very long time to pay out with a lot of retailers. However they do offer a huge variety of options for payout, including gift cards as well as BACs, straight to your bank account. (I will get a small reward if you sign up via my link above).

I mentioned Quidco yesterday, I don’t use them as often as Topcashback because I find their rates are often slightly lower (and I always go for the best deal!) However, each site will have special offers at different times, so it’s well worth being a member of several. I have found them more reliable than Topcashback for paying out, both in terms of tracking transactions and not declining them. I am a member of Quidco Basic, but you may consider it to be worthwhile to sign up to their premium account which costs £5 per year. We’ll each get £1.25 if you sign up using my link above.

A site I discovered quite recently, after a friend recommended it to me is iMutual. They are different to other cashback sites because they are a cooperative, owned and run by their members. As well as earning cashback, you earn shares in the company on every transaction. iMutual is free to join and is also an ethical cooperative, in addition they place a high value on their members privacy and security. I have only completed a few transactions with them and each time, they have had by far the best rate of pay and then often offer cashback where other sites do not. Also, they pay out extremely reliably and quickly. I cannot recommend them more highly and they pay out straight to your Paypal account, or BACS if you prefer. (If you sign up using my link, I’ll receive 100 shares in the company).

Finally, I sometimes use Swagbucks because they offer a part of their site called Shop & Earn, which is essentially cashback. They frequently have offers to make their site competitive, since this an area in which they are trying to build their business. They offer a huge range of sites, including a lot of American ones (since they are an American company). I have used them from time to time and I’ve found them to track reliably and pay out in a reasonable length of time. The other advantage is the huge variety of payout methods, since they offer a wide selection of gift cards, in addition to Paypal.

Several British banks are now offering cashback alongside their current accounts. I know that both Lloyds Bank and Natwest are doing this. I personally have found the payout rates to be very low and then you have to wait to hit a high payout threshold. Therefore they just haven’t been worthwhile to me.

With these sites now in your arsenal, you should be saving money in no time! Do you have any other cashback sites you can recommend?

Leave a Reply

