Money-Saving Shopping Apps

It’s hard to decide what to tell you about next, but I’ve plumped for money-saving shopping apps. There are several out there and they really do help to cut your bill. I don’t use them all the time because I don’t tend to buy branded goods much of the time and I also try to support smaller, independent businesses for much of my shopping. However, as Zero Waste is a burgeoning concept in the UK and our shopping landscape is dominated by the supermarkets- I imagine these are going to be useful to a lot of people.

I think my favourite is Checkoutsmart, this is because they have a lot of completely free products on their weekly offers. Who doesn’t love trying something for free?! Take this week, for example, they have £179 worth of offers on their app. All you have to do is buy the product and upload your receipt. You get reimbursed with these apps into your bank account or Paypal account. My top tips are to make sure you’re buying the right product (check the variety and size carefully), in the right supermarkets (some offers are store specific) and take a legible photo of your receipt (don’t screw it up and then try to flatten it out!) Some apps have a minimum payment amount, or an amount above which you don’t have to pay a fee and others reimburse you after every purchase.

I’m not sure how it works, but I think Checkoutsmart must also own ClickSnap because you can’t redeem offers on both apps (I’ve tried!) ClickSnap is run by Quidco, a cashback site that I’ve been using for a while (more on that opportunity later). If you care to sign up to Quidco using my referral link we’ll both get £1.25 bonus.

Shopitize is another one of these apps, they sometimes have free products and lots of money off offers.

A new one that I’ve just discovered is Shopinium- They don’t have a website, just the app. They run on the same format and if you sign up using my referral code KYMYYHHW, you’ll get a free bar of Green and Black’s chocolate. I’ll also get a small amount as a thank you for you using my link.

There is also one called ShopScanSave but I found it awkward to use (you were supposed to show your barcode to the till operator) and it now isn’t displaying any offers, so I wouldn’t be surprised if it is no longer active. However, you might like to try it in your area.

I hope these apps allow you to save some money off your weekly shopping and enjoy some new products too. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Money-Saving Shopping Apps

  1. Pingback: Make the Most of Supermarket Vouchers | Minimalist Exposure

Leave a Reply

