On my way to a Minimalist Wardrobe!

IMG_2833

I’ve made some real progress since I wrote: https://minimalistexposure.wordpress.com/2015/09/05/this-is-not-a-minimalist-wardrobe/ These 3 boxes/ bags full of clothes have been donated to charity!

There is possibly a 4th bag to follow (I admit I am having a hard time parting with certain items- “just in case” I might need to wear them again). I know it’s silly, but this is a journey and I’m taking it a few steps at a time. I’ve sold a few items on eBay- netting myself £50 which ‘ain’t bad’. The daft thing about eBay is that some of these items I’ve sold for more than they cost me new! Now I’ll admit that’s mostly due to my savvy shopping habits- outlet stores, sales & T.K. Maxx, but still- the world is a little bit nuts!

I’ll post some updated shots of my wardrobe in due course, just to prove that I’ve got more space in it now. But, those 2 boxes you see in the second shot- they are down to 1 box. YAY! Go me. I’ve popped some suits on a local Facebook selling group, but as yet have had no takers. When I get some more free listings, I will be putting more stuff on eBay.

I’ve not been perfect, I made several purchases recently- guilty of shopping on eBay, in charity shops and at a vintage fair. I guess I’m a work in progress. I made endeavours to sell a large bag of my vintage clothing to a dealer, but when I visited the shop he wasn’t available. I will need to make an appointment if I go back, however I’m starting to consider doing vintage fairs myself. I mean, I have a real eye for the clothes that are good quality and sought after names. Why not indulge my passion for shopping and the thrill of searching out a bargain, whilst making money out of it and having even more fun?! That probably isn’t compatible with being a Minimalist is it?

2 thoughts on “On my way to a Minimalist Wardrobe!

  1. It’s interesting how many clothes and shoes we hang on to “just because”, even though we haven’t worn certain pieces for three years! In my early 20s I was moving out of a big city and my dad only had his truck to fit all of my stuff (including furniture); I had a shopping problem. I ended up ridding myself of four XL garbage bags of clothes and shoes and donated them. The surprising thing is after a few months I couldn’t even remember what a quarter of those things looked like. Fortunately I “grew up”, changed my spending habits drastically, and have moved on to zero waste. It’s hard to drag me out shopping now. You can find amazing clothes in thrift shops though!

Leave a Reply

