It’s the little things…

IMG_2009

Sometimes the little things in life make all the difference. We have stopped used shower gel in our house and switched to solid, bar soaps. No more single-use, plastic containers for us! Dr Bronner’s seem to be very popular amongst Zero Waste and plastic-free bloggers and I was lucky enough to find my local TK Maxx often seems to have them in, for £1 less than Amazon or my local health food store sells them for. We tried the Dr Bronner Org Green Tea Soap Bar 140g one first and it seems to do a nice job, so I picked these up when I saw them. The Dr. Bronner’s Citrus Bar Soap Made with Organic Ingredients 140 g is my favourite! Should keep us going for a good while! They are wrapped in 100% recycled paper which I will also recycle.

IMG_2010

Whilst stopping by one of my favourite Zero Waste/ Minimalist/ Plastic Free blogs- Treading My Own Path by Lindsay. http://treadingmyownpath.com/2015/04/08/can-you-be-zero-waste-and-a-minimalist/

I discovered in the comments that people will actually pay money for old toilet rolls on eBay. I had to verify this, but it is indeed true! Now if you know me, you’ll know this is my perfect combination- making money and being zero waste at the same time. So from here on in, we are saving all our toilet rolls in a cardboard box- to be sold on eBay once we accumulate enough. They seem to sell in batches of 25 or 50. You could get around £10 for a box of 50. As a crafter myself, I know there have been times when I’ve wished I had lots of a certain item for a project- so I can really see how this meets a need. I might start saving my old lightbulbs for the same reason. And if anyone has a stack of broadsheet newspapers they’d donate to me- I can put them to good use!

I’d love to here of any other zero waste hacks like this that people know of!

4 thoughts on “It’s the little things…

  1. I should probably do a tutorial for the little owls I made from toilet rolls. They had soaps hidden inside their tummies! They were really cute. There are tonnes of ideas on Pinterest; jewellery boxes are one I remember.

  2. I’m glad you found a market for your toilet rolls. 🙂 I have been skimming through your site and can’t believe I didn’t come across it sooner. Glad I found you through Lindsay.

    • Thanks for the kind comments Lois and welcome! Blogs are harder to come across I think, I often find the best ones by linking from other sites. I don’t remember how I found Treading My Own Path now but I’m so glad I did!

Leave a Reply

