Goodbye Hi-fi!

IMG_0938

6 months ago, I said I was going to get rid of my hi-fi and I didn’t manage it. Although I did let go of my iPod instead. During the intervening months I had used it about twice and since moving, it had sat in its box for 3 months untouched. That was enough to confirm to me, that it did indeed need to go!

I popped it on eBay and made a very fair return on it, seeing as it was now 5 years old. It had been very well looked after and was like new. I got just under half of my original spend back, so much better to sell it now than when it had further depreciated or become obsolete. I’ve had the odd pang of regret, but I just remind myself that I didn’t use it.

I’ve been using either my iPad, iPhone, computer or portable radio as alternatives and the speakers are excellent on these devices. I have treated myself to a £20 portable CD drive (via Amazon, paid for with Swagbucks!) which means I can upload all my CDs to iTunes (my Macbook Air doesn’t have a CD drive). The next move I can see happening, is for all my CDs to go. Then I would have an obsolete hi-fi stand to get rid of too, unless it can be repurposed! ha

This was definitely one of the harder things to let go, but I’m so glad I did it. Let me know how your decluttering efforts are going.

Leave a Reply

