Losing momentum

I’ve minimising now for about 3 months non-stop. Admittedly, I’m trying to sell most of the stuff rather than just dump it or give it away- so that’s why it’s taking me longer. I was starting to feel like I was losing momentum. I think this was compounded by moving house just over a month ago. I’m fed up of looking at stuff and sorting through it!

I found a tip by Joshua Becker at Becoming Minimalist really helpful. Just pick a surface and clear it. By clearing it, you not only make it easier to clean, but you also make it harder to dump stuff there. If you have a clean surface, you are less likely to want to clutter it up.

I started with a windowsill in the lounge. No longer is it home to all our keys. (Which by the way is also a useful security tip- don’t leave keys near a door or window and certainly not visible!) Gone is the vase. Discarded are the old screws. And the other little bits and pieces have found new homes, in cupboards and drawers and places where they should be.

It’s so easy to do, it only takes a few moments and you’ll feel so much better afterwards. There really is a lot to be said for clear surfaces. When you see how different it makes you feel in your mind- clearer thinking, calmer, more peaceful. Well, that gives you the momentum you need to keep on minimising!

Leave a Reply

