Difficult Decisions

Well, we’re in the process of moving house. We’re in the slightly unusual position of buying a house from a family member and this means we’ve inherited lots of furniture and other bits too. Now there are downsides and upsides to this, especially for the minimalist.

We’ve acquired a lovely 3 piece suite, a dining table and 6 dining chairs- all useful things which we’ve never had before. However, we’ve also acquired most of the stuff that went with the house. Thankfully a friend who was setting up home has taken most of the contents, but to be honest we still have a significant amount.

I now have to contend with an additional printer, another stationary cabinet, another bookshelf. I find it hard to get rid of things like this- that ‘might’ be useful, either now or in the future. I guess I need to get out of that mentality. One of the hardest things is inheriting a fridge freezer- over 15 years newer than the white goods we currently own. But we have a separate larder fridge and freezer at the moment and this is a 2 in1. And it’s much smaller than I would have chosen.

Because of the amount we’ve outlaid on the new house. moving costs etc, my husband is adamant that we can’t get rid of it. Plus, we have a small kitchen where space will be limited and there isn’t room for a separate fridge and freezer. We were originally going to have the fridge inside and the freezer in the shed. Then we thought we might stack one on top of the other.

The thing is not only is the freezer on this fridge freezer tiny, but the fridge is a lot smaller than our current one. Now I’m all for minimalism (you know this by now!) but, I also believe in home-cooking. This means I often have a lot of things in my fridge, particularly if I’ve made a big lasagne for example and a pudding. Or I’ve got a big piece of meat in, just waiting to be cooked as a roast dinner. I just know it wouldn’t all go in.

Oh the dilemmas I wish I didn’t have right now! Has anyone else inherited items that make this minimalism journey seem harder?

2 thoughts on “Difficult Decisions

  1. I’ve faced this extra fridge/freezer dilemma – but soaring food costs in uk mean that nominal costs of running extra appliances in garages etc are more than compensated by batch cooking/buying food etc etc; worth checking that the appliance will work in a garage from temp control viewpoint – not all do. Hope that helps! Times when minimalism has to be tempered by economy?

    • Thanks for your comment Nexi! I’m not sure about whether it will be OK to run in a shed. I’ve often had freezer or tumble dryers in garages with no problems. I’m worried about the costs of running a fridge in the garage that I probably won’t use- I value freezer space more because you can keep things longer. True about the soaring price of food here! I tend to shop late in the day for reduced bargains which I then freeze. Perhaps I will eventually sell the fridge freezer or something? I think I will see how it actually works out after we’ve moved.

Leave a Reply

