Minimalist Exposure- Beginnings

Welcome to my blog! I created this blog to record my journey into minimalism, as this is what I’ve realised I am doing. My journey has been triggered by several debilitating lifelong health conditions, that have led me to question everything. In questioning the meaning of life afresh and maybe because of my personal experiences of poor health, I noticed there was a desire emerging from within to rid myself of ‘stuff’. It was like I had fresh eyes all of a sudden; I realised how empty all of the stuff was, how it had never brought me the promised happiness and how it holds no answer to the massive, unanswered questions in my life.

So, I began to divest myself of the stuff. In doing so, I also looked on the internet for inspiration or answers to some of my questions, explanations for the way I was feeling. I struck upon blogs relating to minimalism. Suddenly I had something I could relate to, which made some kind of sense of my current position. Where once I relied upon religion to provide this, when it could offer no decent explanation of my situation- I moved away from it. However, in some strange way- minimalism is allowing me an opportunity to try and bring together the two estranged halves of my life and my religion.

Now I can honestly say that although I am not entirely at ease with my situation, if it has brought me to this place- where I can learn something new- maybe I am starting to feel like I can find some meaning in my life again. And so begins my exposure to minimalism.

If you Google the word minimalism, you will find that it is work set out to expose the essence of identity of a subject through eliminating all non-essential forms, features of concepts (Source- Wikipedia). I feel like minimalism may allow me to find myself again, even in the midst of all life throws at us. I can honestly say I’m looking forward to the changes this journey will bring. Will you join me?

One thought on “Minimalist Exposure- Beginnings

  1. Hi glutenfreeness! I’m also a minimalist starting since May, 2013. I’m a college student who just moved out of my dorm into a new apartment so getting rid of things was pretty easy for me. I am proud to say that I cut down on my things to a point that I can be happy with.
    I’d love to read more updates on your minimalist process. I wish you best of luck with your project!
    Miro

Leave a Reply

